Just another story out of many

20121108-203154.jpg

“I was born perfect, but not kept that way.

I wish that I was not stripped of my right to choose. Circumcision is disgusting and a sexual hate crime. When my wife became pregnant we didn’t even give circumcision a 5 minute discussion. We automatically assumed that we would participate in the act because there had to be a reason for it if it was done so often.


It wasn’t until my wife got into an argument with an intactivist on some woman’s social network site and it started her extended thought process on the subject that we sat and talked. She began researching and came across a video of a circumcision being performed on a tiny baby. I couldn’t even sit through the first 3 minutes of the video. I think I made it to the part where they tear the foreskin from the glans. Because of someone else taking the time to speak out our son was spared from this barbaric practice. After further research I became disgusted at the act that was performed on my genitals and realized it was the cause of some discomfort.

Because of my circumcision the skin on my penis is too tight on one side. It caused my shaft to grow at a slight curve during adolescence. I always assumed it was natural and the way my penis was supposed to look. Now that I know it is a cosmetic alteration caused by the circumcision that I did not consent to I am furious. I was never consulted about how I wanted my penis to look and feel. I am one of the lucky ones. My circumcision has not prevented me from having a good sex life and children. I also was not one of the hundreds of baby boys that die in America every year. I am thankful that I survived. I am now preparing for foreskin restoration because I am interested in what all the fuss is about.

Every human deserves the right of genital autonomy.”

~J”

For more stories check Men Speak Out event on Facebook.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just another story out of many

  1. hellesbelles86 says:

    I was explaining a post of yours to my brother in law and sister in law (ages 19 and 17) and that led to me needing to explain circumcision. Both were appalled that such a thing existed, let alone was common here in the states. Both were adamant that they’ll never do anything like that to their sons if either has any. Then my brother in law stated he was so happy to be intact. Having talked with my mother-in-law, I knew this was not the case and told him as much (it’s never came up, he was homeschooled, so he didn’t know) and he was so upset that someone had taken that part of him when he wasn’t even old enough to protest. It made me so sad for him, but thanks to your page and others that promote intactivism, I was able to pass on information about foreskin restoration and I’m grateful to you for that.

Leave a Reply

